About WTCR

The first races using the WTCR regulations took place in 2015, and since then the rules set has spread throughout the circuit racing world, being adopted by more than a dozen regional and national championships. In 2017 races with WTCR cars span 23 different countries.

Of these the most high profile championship is the WTCR International Series. The 2017 season includes some of the most famous circuits in the world, including Spa-Francorchamps in Belgium and the historic Monza circuit. The championship features privateer, customer teams with machinery representing a number of the top motor manufacturers.

As well as sprint racing WTCR-specification machinery also features in multi-class endurance events, with specific classes in the international 24H Series and the Nürburgring 24 Hours.


Hyundai i30 N WTCR

The creation of the i30 N WTCR represents Hyundai Motorsport’s first steps into circuit racing, and entrance into one of the fastest growing categories in motorsport.

The design phase of our WTCR project began in September 2016, with the first completed test car running in April 2017. The WTCR project continues the expansion of Hyundai Motorsport, with the new car to be built and developed by the Customer Racing department at the team’s headquarters in Alzenau, Germany.

Based on the road-going New Generation i30 model, in line with the WTCR regulations the i30 N WTCR is powered by a two-litre turbocharged engine connected to a six-speed sequential gearbox and is fitted with a 100-litre fuel tank. The i30 N WTCR will be sold to customer teams, with the first deliveries expected in early December 2017.

More Information